Top menu >> Customers



The merge feature in RPM can be used for 2 different purposes:


Name cleanup: choose this option when you have 2 or more of the exact same customers but the supplier(s) have spelled the name different (eg: ABC Company – ABC Company inc.). The merge feature allows you to cleanup your customer database by merging them together. All information will be merged together, information such as: contacts, orders, accounts can now be found under one name.


Location merge: choose this option when you have a customer that has multiple locations and you would like to house all the accounts and information together on the customer page. When you choose the location merge RPM will ask you to choose a master customer and will create all the other locations under the Location tab on the customer page.


At the bottom of this page there is a video tutorial available that shows you how this works!



Name cleanup



Click Merge on the customer page.




Merge type: select Name cleanup




You have 2 options to add the customers you would like to merge:


1. + Add list: This will allow you to paste in the customers from excel (prior to merging you can download your entire customer list in excel).


2. Add single: You can enter the names of the locations 1 by 1 to add them to the list of customers your would like to merge.



1. + Add list


Paste your customers in the box and click Next when done




You can select the Master customer: this is the customer that will remain, the other customers will be merged into it. 


Click Next when done. 





This page will show you if there are any conflicts with custom fields, meaning that if you have a custom field with values in it for 1 or more of the customers you are merging. 


Click Next when ready to move to the next stage. 





Summary page of what is merged. 


Click Merge when ready. 





2. Add single


Enter the names 1 by 1 in the text box to the right of Add single




This page will show you if there are any conflicts with custom fields, meaning that if you have a custom field with values in it for 1 or more of the customers you are merging. 


Click Next when ready to move to the next stage. 





Summary page of what is merged. 


Click Merge when ready. 





Location merge



Click Merge on the Customer page



Select Location merge.





You have 2 options to add the customers you would like to merge:


1. + Add list: This will allow you to paste in the customers from excel (prior to merging you can download your entire customer list in excel).


2. Add single: You can enter the names of the locations 1 by 1 to add them to the list of customers your would like to merge.






1. + Add list


Paste your customers in the box and click Next when done





You can select the Master customer: this is the customer that will remain, the other customers will be merged into it. 


Click Next when done. 





This page will show you if there are any conflicts with custom fields, meaning that if you have a custom field with values in it for 1 or more of the customers you are merging. 


Click Next when ready to move to the next stage. 





Summary page of what is merged. 


Click Merge when ready. 







Tutorial video






See also: